X

How To Save Configuration in Cisco Router And Erase Cisco Router Configuration– Cisco certifications labs using Cisco packet tracer

Cisco configuration

In this tutorial you will learn how to save a configuration in cisco router, how to erase config on cisco router and Cisco commands for how to show cisco router running config and startup configuration. Cisco routers starts executing startup configurations, any changes made to the router’s configuration while it is running is erased on each restart of a router, if you do want to retain any changes made to the router configurations after a restart then you must know the cisco commands for saving running configuration to startup configuration. Commands for writing and displaying router running configurations or startup configuration can be executed in Privileged Exec mode. So for displaying, saving or erasing Cisco router configuration you need to be at the Privileged Exec mode. For more about Cisco router modes click here.

At Privileged mode (UpaaeRouter1 being the host name) the prompt will look like this UpaaeRouter1# .

Cisco Show Commands for displaying running configuration and startup configuration:

UpaaeRouter1# show running-config     // executing this command will display the router running configuration.

UpaaeRouter1# show startup-config   // executing this command displays/show startup configuration pf cisco router.

Cisco commands To save configurations in Cisco Router:

Save running configuration to startup configuration 

UpaaeRouter1# copy running-config  startup-config    // this command will save the configuration changes you have made (running-configuration) to startup-configuration in the NVRAM.

Save startup configuration to running configuration

UpaaeRouter1# copy startup-config running-config   // this command will write the startup configuration to the running configuration.

How To Erase Configuration on Cisco Router:

If you want to clear the configuration of your cisco router follow these steps:

  1. Log on to your router.
  2. Enter the privileged EXEC by typing enable command.
  3. At privileged EXEC mode type write erase, which will erase the NVRAM file system and removes all files.
  4. Confirm that you want to erase all files at prompt.
  5. After the complete execution of “step 4” enter reload, and type no when prompted whether to save the configuration.
UpaaeRouter1# write erase

UpaaeRouter1# reload    // these two commands will erase both running and startup configurations.
Recommended Resources for CCNA Exam:

Following are the resources which every Cisco Networking student should be equipped with, these will not only guarantee passing Cisco Exams, but will help you understand every pitfall and minor details of Cisco networking.

If you do have any questions in mind, please ask in comments section.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


19125 Views